Skip to content

Bolsonaro supporters will thrive in Brazil’s 2023 Congress

Even if President Jair Bolseonaro is defeated by former President Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva in the presidential runoff on October 30, Bolsonarism will survive in Congress. Former cabinet ministers from the Bolsonaro administration will enter both the House and Senate, and the president’s own Liberal Party was by far the biggest winner of the election that took place on Sunday.

Five former cabinet ministers were elected senators: Damares Alves, Marcos Pontes, Sergio Moro, Tereza Cristina, and Rogério Marinho. Mr. Moro, who fell out with President Bolsonaro after resigning as justice minister in April 2020, ran on a platform…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *